An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Air Force announces the 12 Outstanding Airmen for 2023

  • Published
  • Air Force's Personnel Center Public Affairs

Air Force officials have selected the service’s top enlisted members, naming the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2023.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force’s Personnel Center considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected the 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

Among them is Tech. Sgt. Theodore Sebsibe who is currently deployed as the noncommissioned officer in charge of electrical systems for the 379th Civil Engineer Squadron at Al Udeid Air Base, Qatar.

Sebsibe is in charge of a team responsible for installing, upgrading, and maintaining electrical systems across the base. His team provides customer service to military, contractors, and coalition partners, ensuring infrastructure longevity. He is currently pursuing a doctorate degree in strategic leadership and actively encourages his Airmen to seek professional development opportunities.

"I am deeply honored to have been chosen as one of the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year 2023," Sebsibe said. "This achievement would not have been possible without the gracious blessings of our Lord, the unwavering love and support from my wife and daughter, the exceptional teamwork of our Airmen, and the guidance of our remarkable leadership. This prestigious award serves as a true testament to the notion to always 'keep moving forward.'"

The 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year (alphabetically, by rank and command of assignment when selected) are:

  • Senior Master Sergeant Justin S. Cruz, Air Force Materiel Command – Airman supporting Space Force
  • Technical Sergeant Jennel L. Edwards, Air Force Global Strike Command
  • Senior Master Sergeant Sedrick F. Evans, Pacific Air Forces
  • Technical Sergeant Michelle A. Fernandez, Air Mobility Command
  • Master Sergeant Michael A. Galindo, Air Education and Training Command
  • Senior Airman Ryan G. Hospelhorn, United States Air Forces in Europe - Air Forces Africa
  • Senior Airman Kostiantyn Khymchenko, Air Combat Command
  • Technical Sergeant Micaela R. Mahan, Air Force Materiel Command
  • Technical Sergeant Kimberly R. Mastrocola, Air Force Special Operations Command
  • Senior Airman Dhruva S. Poluru, Air National Guard
  • Technical Sergeant Theodore M. Sebsibe, Air Force District of Washington
  • Senior Airman Jacob T. Tawasha, Air Force Reserve Command

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the OAY badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.